Reminder: Bernard LaFayette Jr. to Speak at the University of Kentucky

Bernard Lafayette Jr. at the National Voting Rights Museum in Selma, standing in front of two photographs from 1963: one a mug shot from his arrest, the other from when he was attacked in Selma.

Don’t forget! Bernard LaFayette Jr., civil rights leader and author of In Peace and Freedom: My Journey in Selma, will be speaking at the University of Kentucky tomorrow, March 25, at 7 pm. Don’t miss this exciting opportunity to hear from the man who worked with Martin Luther King Jr. and headed the Alabama Voter Registration Project in Selma, Alabama.  Take a look at this excerpt from the chapter “Central Alabama Heats Up”:

One night I was driving back from Wilcox County alone, and three vehicles were blocking the road ahead. It looked like trouble, so I had to decide whether to turn around and go back to safety, swerve off the side of the road around them, or just pull up to them and stop. I decided that if it was my time to go, then I’d just take my chances…An old man aimed a double-barrel shotgun straight at my head, his hands shaking.  He looked at me and said, “Hey, are you the one who can’t say ‘yes sir’ and ‘no sir’?”

I told him, “I don’t have a problem with those words. I can say them just fine.” I turned and stared straight into the muzzle of his shotgun and said, “Yes sir, no sir, yes sir, no sir.”

Join us tomorrow evening at the Martin Luther King Center in the Student Center of the University of Kentucky to hear more from this inspiring man.

And remember, you still have a chance to win a copy of LaFayette’s book by commenting on this post or on our Facebook page! The winner will be announced tomorrow at 1pm.

 

Leave a Reply

